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Contractors State License Board Urges Storm Victims 
to “Check the License First” Before Making Repairs

CSLB tips help prevent storm repairs from becoming costly headaches 

SACRAMENTO – The Contractors State License Board (CSLB) reminds California home owners to 

only use licensed contractors when it comes to storm damage repairs. The cheapest price may not be 

the best solution when it comes to repairing flood damage, removing a fallen tree, fixing a downed fence, 

or patching a leaky roof. 

"Anyone who needs to make repairs from storm damage should be looking for a legitimate, qualified 

tradesperson – especially in an urgent situation," said CSLB Registrar Steve Sands. "Licensed 

contractors are skilled in their specific trade, insured and bonded, and not likely to leave you in the lurch 

when it comes to properly completing the job at a fair price." 

Consumers can use CSLB's online resources, available at www.cslb.ca.gov or 

CheckTheLicenseFirst.com, to review the license status of a contractor they plan to hire, and to get tips 

about the best approach for making home repairs. Any construction job valued at $500 or more in 

combined labor and material costs must be performed by a state-licensed contractor. California Business 

and Professions (B&P) Code requires licensees to carry workers' compensation insurance coverage for 

their employees, and to be bonded. 

For tree trimming and removal jobs where the tree is 15 feet or higher and the job is more than $500, 

the contractor must be state-licensed. B&P Code allows a gardener who does not have a state license to 

work on incidental tree pruning if the tree is less than 15 feet tall and the job costs less than $500. 

State law requires all C-39 Roofing contractors to carry workers' compensation insurance, even if they 

do not have employees, to ensure that consumers are protected in the event of an accident or injury on 

the homeowner's property. 

Always follow these tips when soliciting bids from any home improvement contractor: 

http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
http://www.checkthelicensefirst.com/
http://www.seniorscamstopper.com/
mailto:rick.lopes@cslb.ca.gov
mailto:melanie.bedwell@cslb.ca.gov
mailto:steve.breen@cslb.ca.gov
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/
http://www.checkthelicensefirst.com/
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/GeneralInformation/Newsroom/


   

    

   

 

  

    

  

    

          

      

   

       
    

   
  

 

 

              
        

         
           

    
 

  
 

 
   

  
    

  
    

 

•	 Only hire licensed contractors, and ask to see the license and a photo identification. 

•	 Don't rush into repairs no matter how badly they're needed. 

•	 Be careful when using online bulletin boards like craigslist.org. Unlicensed operators may try to 

mislead you into thinking they are licensed. 

•	 Only make a down payment of 10 percent or $1,000, whichever is less. 

•	 Don't pay in cash, and don't let payments get ahead of the work. 

•	 Get at least three bids, check references, and get a written contract. 

•	 Contact CSLB if you have a complaint against a contractor. 

CSLB encourages consumers to always “Check The License First” by visiting www.cslb.ca.gov or 

calling its toll-free automated line: 800.321.CSLB (2752). Also, visit CSLB’s website for tips about how to 

hire a contractor and to sign up for CSLB Email Alerts. 

The Contractors State License Board operates under the umbrella of the California Department of 
Consumer Affairs. CSLB licenses and regulates about 290,000 contractors in California, and is regarded 
as one of the leading consumer protection agencies in the United States. In fiscal year 2013-14, CSLB 
helped recover nearly $51 million in ordered restitution for consumers. 

# # # 

This email was sent because you subscribed to the email alert feature on the 
Contractors State License Board (CSLB) website, www.cslb.ca.gov, or because 
you earlier indicated an interest in receiving CSLB materials electronically. Your 
email address is not shared with third party sources. To unsubscribe, please 
visit our unsubscribe page. 
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