

## Homeless Coordinating and Financing Council Meeting October 9, 2018

## Agenda Item III: Adoption of Changes to the Homeless Coordinating and Financing Council Governance Guidelines

At its January 10, 2018 meeting, the Homeless Coordinating and Financing Council (Council) adopted governance recommendations put forward by the Council Governance Subcommittee. Senate Bill 850 (Health and Safety Code Section 8257), passed in June 2018, made several important changes to the Council, including moving the Council from the Department of Housing and Community Development to the Business, Consumer Services and Housing Agency, providing dedicated staff, and providing new statutory guidance as to the Council's purpose and goals. Given these changes, the governance guideline summarized below needs to be updated.

**Recommendation:** Rather than adopt any changes to the current governance guidelines at the October 9 Council meeting, staff recommends convening the Council Governance Subcommittee to provide recommendations for updating the current governance guidelines. These recommendations would be presented at the Council's January 2019 meeting.

## **Current Governance Guideline Status** i. Health and Safety Code Section 8257 designated i. Ben Metcalf, Director of the Department of Housing and Community Development (HCD), the Secretary of the Business, Consumer was elected as the Council Chair and Russell Services and Housing Agency (BCSH) as Chair of Atterberry, Undersecretary of the Department the Council. Consistent with statute, Alexis of Veterans Affairs, was elected as Vice Chair Podesta, Secretary of BCSH, is now serving as for calendar year 2018. Chair. Russell Atterberry continues to serve as Vice Chair for calendar year 2018. ii. Going forward, at the Council's fourth quarterly ii. As noted above, Secretary Podesta is now

- meeting, the Council shall elect the Chair and Chair-elect, Vice Chair and Vice Chair-elect, to assure continuity in the succeeding year. In the year where the Chair is not a state representative, the Vice-Chair shall be a state agency or department representative appointed to the Council.
- ii. As noted above, Secretary Podesta is now serving as Chair of the Council. The Council needs to elect a Vice Chair and Vice Chair-elect to serve in calendar year 2019. The Council needs to update this governance provision to reflect the changes made by Health and Safety Code Section 8257.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The following Council members are currently on the Governance Subcommittee: Amy Anderson, Executive Director, PATH Ventures; Russell Atterberry, Undersecretary, Department of Veteran Affairs; Donald Cavier, Chief Deputy Director, California Housing Finance Agency; Mark Stivers, Executive Director, Tax Credit Allocation Committee; Alicia Sutton, Chief, Housing, Homelessness, and Civil Rights Branch, Department of Social Services; and Stephanie Welch, Executive Officer, Council on Mentally III Offenders, Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation.